Scientific work at SibSAU is organized into more than 40 scientific fields which correspond to the activities of its affiliated enterprises and academic institutes. Our strategic partners – the consumers of scientific work at SibSAU – are PJSC “Information Satellite Systems”, PJSC “Krasmash State Enterprise”, CCB “Geophysica”, as well as others.

The primary areas in which the University takes a leading position in training and research are connected with the development and modernization of Russian space information systems and the improvement of space vehicles, systems, and complexes for different purposes: fixed and mobile communication, telecasting, navigation, geodesy, and retranslation.

Students are involved in applied research, the conception and development of prospective platforms for automated space vehicles for civil and military purposes, small space vehicles, systems for managing space vehicles in orbit, and methods for the use of space information systems.

Research and development in the field of closed space systems are dedicated to bioregenerative systems of life support, equipment, reliability and safety in closed systems.

In the field of rocket and space vehicle production, fundamental and applied research is carried out pertaining to new materials and coverage development for rocket and space vehicles, high technologies and equipment, control and testing of rocket and space vehicles, and industry and management for organizations using rocket and space vehicles.

The basic Scientific School of SibSAU in the field of space systems was established in 1960 – 1970s by the Scientific School of academician M.F. Reshetnev, General Constructor of Space Systems (from 1959 to 1996).

The University together with its strategic partners has established an effective infrastructure for innovative and scientific activity. It includes four scientific and research institutes, five scientific and educational centers and more than 30 scientific laboratories. The University actively develops a system for instructor training and accreditation through the Centre for Postgraduate and Doctoral Training and seven Dissertation Councils in technical and economic specialties and also in philosophy.